Loading towing capacities...

Land Rover Defender Towing Capacity

Select Your Model Year...

Choose the appropriate model year for the Land Rover Defender you are trying to find the towing capacity for from the list below.

Land Rover Defender

Land Rover Defender Image

You can find 192 different trims/engines for the Land Rover Defender and their corresponding recommended towing capacity.

The years available stretch from 2001 through to 2022 and to view the towing capacity you just click to expand.

The Land Rover Defender is a series of SUVs that have been manufactured by the British company since 1983.

Under the ownership of Jaguar Land Rover, the latest version was available between 2013 and 2016. The model was later reintroduced in 2020 under the Defender badge.

Between 2001 and 2022, there have been two different versions on the market. These are the old-school utility versions called the 90, 110, and 127 models and the new L663 version that was released in 2020, which emphasized a focus on luxury.

These are often colloquially called the “Old Defender” and “New Defender.”.

Layouts have typically included 3-door and 5-door layouts. Additionally, there have been 2-door pickup trucks and 3-door panel trucks for the old model.

During its long stay on the market, it has been a fan-favorite and is often compared to other SUVs. The most notable competitors consist of the Toyota Land Cruiser and Mercedes G Wagon. Of course, the main rival of the original utility version is the Jeep Wrangler.

There have been several different engines available in the utility series. These include engines going from the turbocharged 2.2-liter Ford Duratorq inline-4 and going up to a 2.5-liter inline-5 version for the diesels. Petrol engines have ranged from a 2.8-liter BMW inline-6 to a supercharged 5-liter Jaguar V8.

Powertrains for the new Defender include engines between a turbocharged 2-liter inline-4 to a turbocharged 3-liter mild-hybrid inline-6. There is also a 5-liter V8 petrol option as well as a plug-in hybrid version of the smaller petrol engine.

Trim levels for the new version consist of the Standard, S, SE, XS, HSE, X, V8, and V8 Carpathian Edition. There are also additional accessory packs called the Explorer, Adventure, Urban, and Country.