Loading towing capacities...

Jeep Wrangler Towing Capacity

Select Your Model Year...

Choose the appropriate model year for the Jeep Wrangler you are trying to find the towing capacity for from the list below.

Jeep Wrangler

Jeep Wrangler Image

You can find 318 different trims/engines for the Jeep Wrangler and their corresponding recommended towing capacity.

The years available stretch from 2001 through to 2022 and to view the towing capacity you just click to expand.

The Jeep Wrangler is a range of off-road vehicles that have been manufactured by Jeep since 1986. The nameplate includes both compact and mid-size SUVs. It owes a lot of inspiration to the iconic Willys MB used in World War II.

It is also considered to be one of the most iconic SUVs in the world.

Like the Willys MB, it has a separate body and frame. Layouts are typically either 2-door or 4-door, depending on the model. The majority of models have also featured a detachable roof and door system.

The Wrangler is considered a more stripped-down model from Jeep, especially compared to vehicles like the Cherokee. It also shares many similarities to the Jeep Gladiator, which is a pickup truck version.

It has had a long-running rivalry with the Land Rover Defender, although the models are significantly different in recent times. Other rivals include the Nissan Pathfinder and Toyota 4Runner.

There have been a total of four generations since the initial release. The fourth generation was released in 2017.

Powertrains have typically included engines ranging from a turbocharged 2-liter inline-4 to a 3.6-liter PentastarV6. The newest generation also came with the option of a turbocharged EcoDiesel V6.

Transmission options have included manual and automatic transmissions ranging from 4-speed to the 8-speed found in the models from the newest generation.
Trim levels for the modern generations have typically changed depending on 2-door or 4-door models. The 2-door trim levels usually consist of Sport, Sport S, Sahara, and Rubicon. The 4-door versions have the same trims, with the addition of Sahara and Moab.

As with all Jeeps, the Rubicon trim level provides increased off-road capabilities. Newer models also come with the Latitude and High Altitude versions.